Hunger

Uncategorized

My stomach challenges me, 
never aching or speaking, 
complacent with a bagel 
at ten in the morning 
and never making its presence known
until the thought of a meal 
with my late night programming 
brings me to the cupboard, 
somehow amplifying the show 
I’m watching. 
I suffer from sleepiness that 
leaves me without hunger 
and the lack of devouring 
makes me tired. 
See, it’s simple to dine, 
to most, 
a basic habit, 
but my body features 
a different device 
for survival
and that is oddly 
an empty stomach.

Leave a Reply

