Preserve

Uncategorized

“Don’t spoil your dinner.”
My dinner was spoiled 
well before it made it to my mouth.
I am even sure that my food would outlive me!
Preservatives strong enough to make mummies jealous.
“What are these ingredients?”
“Don’t mind that.  You need to finish your supper.”
What does eating colors do to me?
I bet my stomach is tie-dyed like a hippies shirt
or matched up perfectly like a rainbow.
This food tastes saltier than the sea and
sweeter than conventional sugar.
My mouth craves these foods that
look less like food and more like play toys.
“Can I be excused from the table? I am not feeling well.”
What else would she expect.

Leave a Reply

