Dance for me, Daughter

Uncategorized

Dance for me, daughter.
Yes, that’s it.
You could always work harder.
I never would have known this passion was a pit.

Dance for me, daughter.
You are so close to perfect.
You, just like a calf before slaughter,
I wished you’d show me just one defect.

No reason for you not to dance for me, daughter.
She was my rose, my little dancer, I’d call her.

The only mistake you could ever make
is leaving me here before your age had met mine.
You moved so elegantly, danced divine.

I’d almost wished you weren’t my little dancer
for it was painful at the funeral.

I wish I could save you just one more breath.
I wished you’d never found comfort in a coffin.

8 thoughts on “Dance for me, Daughter

  1. Thanks for the blog following. Wow, this is touching and fiction, I hope…If you have truly lost a child you may want to see my post on Sara but I hope that you have not. Blessings…

    1. I don’t have a child. When i wrote this, I just thought of what it would be like to lose a child. I hope no one has to deal with that tragedy and my blessings go out to all of those people that do. I thank you for the comment and the good blessings.

      1. I’m so glad you’ve not lost a child. Thanks for the followup
        and keep up the creative thinking!

    1. Romance always has negative, erotic connotation. I think this poem is romantic and retrospective. I wanted to show that he values his daughter as a unique and beautiful being taken too early. If you have an alternate thought process, I would love to hear 🙂

  2. I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s
    equally educative and amusing, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that too few people are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy I came across this during my hunt for something concerning this.

Leave a Reply

